Articles on: Blog

What is the NAATI exam?

The NAATI exam, or the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters exam, is a test that assesses the language skills and professional knowledge of translators and interpreters in Australia. The test is designed to evaluate the candidate's ability to accurately and effectively interpret or translate between different languages. The test is divided into two parts, written and oral. The written test assesses the candidate's language skills and their ability to translate written materials, while the oral test assesses their ability to interpret spoken language in both consecutive and simultaneous modes.

NAATI offers different levels of accreditation for different languages, for example, for Hindi language, there is a Paraprofessional (Level 3) and a Professional (level 4) level exam. The level 3 exam is for people who want to work as an interpreter in community settings, while level 4 is for people who want to work as professional interpreters in legal and other formal settings.

The NAATI exam is considered quite rigorous, and passing the test is required for many interpreting and translating jobs in Australia. It's important to note that each test is designed for specific languages and the test format and difficulty level may vary depending on the language.

Updated on: 11/02/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!