Articles on: Blog

What is the NAATI CCL exam?

The NAATI CCL (Certificate in Cultural Linguistics) exam is a test administered by the National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI) in Australia to evaluate an individual's proficiency in a specific language and their ability to translate and interpret effectively. The CCL exam is designed for language professionals who wish to work as translators or interpreters in Australia and are seeking NAATI accreditation.

The CCL exam assesses an individual's proficiency in the target language, as well as their understanding of the culture and customs of the country where the language is spoken. The exam is divided into two parts: a written test and an oral test. The written test covers reading comprehension and translation skills, while the oral test assesses interpreting skills.

The CCL exam is offered in various languages, including Punjabi, Hindi, Tamil, and many more. The result of the test is valid for 3 years and the accreditation is valid for 5 years. After that, the individual will have to take the test again to renew the accreditation.

Having a NAATI CCL accreditation is widely recognized as a standard of excellence in the field of interpreting and translating, and can open up more job opportunities, higher pay, and professional recognition.

Updated on: 11/02/2023

Was this article helpful?

Share your feedback


Thank you!